Dear New Orleans Benefit Album Features Artists Including OK Go, Indigo Girls, and My Morning Jacket with the Preservation Hall Jazz Band

It’s hard to believe, but we have reached the five year anniversary since Hurricane Katrina and her floods decimated New Orleans. Air Traffic Control, an organization which has been co-hosting artist activism retreats in New Orleans for the past five years, is marking the anniversary by producing a benefit album featuring over 30 artists who participated in the program. Dear New Orleans features musicians such as OK Go, Indigo Girls, My Morning Jacket with the Preservation Hall Jazz Band, Steve Earle, Jill Sobule, and the Wrens.

There are two options for purchasing the album at the Dear New Orleans website. You can either buy and download the digital deluxe album for $12 (including 31 tracks, three bonus tracks, and expanded liner notes booklet) or buy the album and make a tax-deductible donation of either $25, $50, or $100.

Proceeds from the sale of the album will be given to New Orleans-based nonprofit organizations including:

Sweet Home New Orleans – a nonprofit supporting individuals and organizations which perpetuate New Orleans’ musical and cultural traditions. The organization helps New Orleans musicians, Mardi Gras Indians, and Social Aid & Leisure Club members get to work and revitalize their communities.

Gulf Restoration Network – an environmental group committed to protecting and restoring the natural resources of the Gulf of Mexico.

The New Orleans artist activism retreats were conceived, produced, and hosted with the Future of Music Coalition.

Track listing is as follows:

  1. Ok Go – “Louisiana Land”
  2. The Mendoza Line – “Catch A Collapsing Star”
  3. Tom Morello: The Nightwatchman – “Midnight In The City Of Destruction”
  4. Janet Bean And The Concertina Wire – “My Little Brigadoon”
  5. Matt Sweeney And Bonnie “Prince” Billy – “Love In The Hot Afternoon”
  6. Paul Sanchez Featuring Shamarr Allen – “Don’t Be Sure”
  7. Alec Ounsworth Featuring Al “Carnival Time” Johnson And John Boutte – “Dr. So and So”
  8. Steve Earle – “Dixieland”
  9. Luke Reynolds – “Flood”
  10. Jon Langford – “Last Fair Deal Gone Down”
  11. Laura Veirs – “I Can See Your Tracks”
  12. Vijay Iyer – “Threnody”
  13. Jill Sobule – “Where Is Bobby Gentry?”
  14. Flobots – “Stand Up”
  15. Rebecca Gates – “Doos”
  16. The Wrens – “Crescent”
  17. Indigo Girls Featuring Brandi Carlile – “Kid Fears”
  18. Timothy Bracy’s Collection Agency – “Matching Scars”
  19. Nellie McKay – “Late Again”
  20. Blind Pilot – “Buried A Bone”
  21. Mirah Featuring Thao Nguyen – “NOLA”
  22. Allison Moorer – “A Change Is Gonna Come”
  23. 2nd Chief David Montana – “The Change Of Heart Man”
  24. Wonderlick – “The American Way”
  25. Bonerama – “Mr. Go”
  26. Thao Nguyen And Bonerama – “Body”
  27. Erin McKeown And Bonerama – “Blackbirds”
  28. Nicole Atkins And Bonerama – “When the Levee Breaks”
  29. Mike Mills, Bonerama, Wayne Kramer And Dave Herlihy – “Ohio”
  30. Wayne Kramer, Bonerama And Mike Mills – “Kick Out The Jams”
  31. My Morning Jacket And Preservation Hall Jazz Band – “Carnival Time”
Enhanced by Zemanta
Related Posts with Thumbnails

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: