CD Review: True Blood: Music from the HBO Original Series Volume 2 Soundtrack Is a Succulent Musical Mix

Music director Gary Calamar and the folks over at True Blood are geniuses when it comes to putting together a soundtrack. True Blood: Music From The HBO® Original Series Volume 2 Soundtrack reflects the show’s every nuance in character. Styles include rockabilly, southern rock, psychedelic rock, folk music, blues, Motown, country, and 60s rock. As a Midwestern metalhead and classical musician, I had only the most general knowledge about many of these genres. I enjoyed every track on this album, and researching the artists was a fascinating music history lesson. I’ll include links to information about the musicians with the track listings at the end of this post. I hope you’ll find the material as interesting as I did.

Several songs explore the show’s raunchy side. “Howlin’ For My Baby” by M. Ward, featuring Jordan Hudson and Mike Coykendall sets the scene for Southern Louisiana with rockabilly backed by a hard-core fuzzy guitar effect. “Evil (Is Going On)” by Jace Everett and CC Adcock delves into the dirty with its bump-and-grind groove and distorted bass sound. Everett’s full-bodied baritone voice perfectly complements Louisiana swamp-rocker Adcock’s wailing guitar solos.

Two songs reveal the tender side of the show. Robbie Robertson’s languorous voice and poetic lyrics evoke the essence of psychic waitress Sookie Stackhouse in “How to Become Clairvoyant”. Country waltz “Kiss like Your Kiss” by Lucinda Williams with Elvis Costello is an ideal tune for a romantic dance on a humid summer night.

True Blood’s campy side shows up on the soundtrack as well. “Frenzy” by 50s shock rocker Screamin’ Jay Hawkins is filled with lip-flopping and burbling. The microphone must have been dripping after he finished recording the song. In “You Did”, Chuck Prophet does a tongue-in-cheek version of deep-voiced singers such as Barry White or Teddy Pendergrass while singing, “Who put the bomp in the bomp-shooby-dooby bomp, who put the ram in the rama-lama-ding-dong?  You did.”

Other notable songs are “New World in My View” and “Beyond Here Lies Nothin'”. “New World”, originally released on the album Let’s Make a Record features the preaching of Sister Gertrude Morgan remixed by Philadelphia DJ King Britt. Sister Morgan came to New Orleans at the age of 39. Although best known as a folk artist, she also preached and did charitable work in the French Quarter and the Ninth Ward. Bob Dylan’s “Beyond Here Lies Nothin’”, shared its title with the final episode of Season 2 and played over the ending credits. The jazzy, Cajun feel of the song sums up an incredible album.

1. Howlin’ For My Baby by M. Ward, featuring Jordan Hudson and Mike Coykendall

2. Evil (Is Going On) by Jace Everett and CC Adcock

3. Bad Blood by Beck

4. How to Become Clairvoyant by Robbie Robertson

5. Shake and Fingerpop by Jr Walker and the All-Stars

6. Frenzy by Screamin’ Jay Hawkins

7. Kiss like Your Kiss by Lucinda Williams with Elvis Costello

8. Gasoline and Matches by Buddy and Julie Miller

9. You Did (Bomp Shooby Dooby Bomp) by Chuck Prophet

10. You’re Gonna Miss Me by The 13th Floor Elevators

11. Fresh Blood by Eels

12. The Forgotten People by Thievery Corporation

13. New World in My View by King Britt and Sister Gertrude Morgan

14. Beyond Here Lies Nothin’ by Bob Dylan

Enhanced by Zemanta
Related Posts with Thumbnails
, ,

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: