Methods of Mayhem Collaborated With The World And Prepare To Release “A Public Disservice Announcement”

Last year, Tommy Lee and his Methods of Mayhem group announced they were producing new music, but not in the usual way.  Instead, Lee, producer Scott Humphrey, singer-guitarist J3 and others wrote and recorded the songs for the new album. Then, they made the core components of each available for download on allowing anyone to add their playing or otherwise re-interpret the music however they wished.

After going through all the submissions, mixing and finalizing the album, Methods of Mayhem is set to release A Public Disservice Announcement on September 21st. Every single musician whose part was used is credited and thanked on the album.

Lee commented, “When I founded Methods in 1999, the whole purpose of the band was to be all over the place.  In keeping with that, this Methods isn’t anything like the last one. There’s no hip hop and there’s no roster of guest stars. This time, it’s me, my band, and the world.”

By the end of the submission period in February 2010, the page was viewed over 1 million times and over 10,000 submissions were uploaded.  What came back once the public got its hands on the raw ingredients was truly all over the map – just as Tommy Lee had hoped.  The diverse submissions included techno tracks sent in from Japan, hand drum rhythms from India and searing guitar solos from as close to home as San Diego.

I am really curious to know how this turned out.

Track listing is as follows:

  1. Drunk Uncle Pete
  2. Time Bomb
  3. Louder
  4. Fight Song
  5. Blame
  6. Two Ways
  7. Talk Me Off The Ledge
  8. Only One
  9. All I Wanna Do
  10. Back To Before
  11. Party Instructions
Enhanced by Zemanta
Related Posts with Thumbnails

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: