The Swell Season – Oscar-Winning Duo Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova Release a Follow-Up Album to the Soundtrack from the Movie “Once”

The Swell Season, the Oscar-winning duo of The Frames frontman Glen Hansard and Czech musician Marketa Irglova released their second album, Strict Joy, on October 27. The album consists of 12 new, original songs that were recorded last year and document a time of great change and tumult in the artists’ lives. Strict Joy borrows its name from a work by Irish poet James Stephens.

In 2008 The Swell Season garnered two Grammy nominations and an Oscar win for Best Original Song for their hit single “Falling Slowly” from the movie Once. This led to a sold-out world tour for The Swell Season, which was captured for an upcoming documentary.

You can stream the entire album through NPR’s media player. I’ve been listening to it this afternoon, and it sounds like a great album. Here’s the track listing for Strict Joy:

1. Low Rising
2. Feeling the Pull
3. In These Arms
4. The Rain
5. Fantasy Man
6. Paper Cup
7. High Horses
8. The Verb
9. I Have Loved You Wrong
10. Love That Conquers
11. Two Tongues
12. Back Broke

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Related Posts with Thumbnails

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: